New to bonsai, got 3 hopefuls

Troutnut

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
IMG_5704.jpegIMG_5705.jpegIMG_5707.jpegHi all, I’m brand new to keeping trees. Ive accumulated a wild amount of plants this spring & have placed particular focus on my three bonsai-to-be trees. I repotted all of them into pond baskets with well-draining substrate—a mix of espoma’s bonsai soil with organic soil that I enriched with blood meal and worm casings. They are: juniper procumbens (sold as a bonsai starter), dwarf Alberta spruce, and a blue Japanese white pine (“glauca”).

Thus far, I have applied full-spectrum fungicide at one watering, and dilute fish emulsion at another watering & some foliar mistings of the same emulsion . From what I gather, all three dislike overwatering (should prove to be a challenge to overwater in pond baskets). It seems that the JWP may be the most sensitive of the three. The needle drop seen in the JWP picture is due to removing of a less-than-useful wire application. Besides that, the dark spots on the juniper & spruce are from drippings of pruning sealer.

My questions and concerns regard watering and fertilization frequency. The spruce and the juniper are potted with higher proportions of inorganic material and they drain quite freely, while the JWB has a higher proportion of organic soil from its original pot. I’ve noticed that all 3 seem to have adequate drainage & that they all retain a comfortable amount of moisture, never staying sopping wet. Besides the organic fertilization, I also added some osmocote (15-9-12) to the soil in anticipation of 1” of rain coming later this week. These trees will be staying outdoors full time, perhaps getting sunk into larger pots (pond basket and all) when winter comes back around.

In summary: how often should I water these guys? It’s early spring, I’m in the US in a zone 7a climate, and these trees are kept on a south-facing patio area, receiving a blasting of sunlight for most of the day.