New Bonsai Help

Brockie1996

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi! I’m new to Bonsai, just recently bought a bonsai from a garden centre and the tag says it’s a Ficus Retusa (Banyan Fig). Gave it its first water the day I bought it as the soil was very dry. The foliage seems to be healthy, nice and green and there is a lot of signs of new growth. I am looking for advice more about the soil and the size of the pot and whether it looks like it’s going to need re potted this year from what you can see, I have goals with this tree and I am really looking forward to getting to know it! I appreciate any information I can get on this, thank you 😊

Attachments

• IMG_3039.jpeg
    IMG_3039.jpeg
    177.1 KB · Views: 47
  • IMG_3040.jpeg
    IMG_3040.jpeg
    234.5 KB · Views: 39
  • IMG_3041.jpeg
    IMG_3041.jpeg
    259.3 KB · Views: 33
  • IMG_3042.jpeg
    IMG_3042.jpeg
    236.3 KB · Views: 43
Conventional advice is to repot it into more of a traditional inorganic bonsai soil as that appears to be strictly organic. That could wait if you still have good drainage and it’s not staying wet too long. As for the size of the pot if you want to keep it small then you can keep it in a smaller pot. If you want a bigger tree then a larger pot will help.

Hi, thank you for your reply! I will definitely look into that. The drainage is very good, I bought this tree on Sunday, I watered it on Sunday night and the soil is a little bit moist now (starting to dry) so will be watering again tomorrow. That’s 4 days between watering but I understand that can change also and it’s a case of monitoring it on a daily basis 😊

Hi, and welcome to the forum! I recommend adding your location (can be general) and USDA climate zone in your profile. Click on your username in the upper right, then go to account details and fill it out. This really helps with advice you may receive.