JBP Pruning behind the candle

Rhumphres01

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I’m new to JBPs and I was wondering what happens if you prune behind the candles? I have read it promotes needle buds, but will it back bud candles on the tip where I cut it as well? How should you cut back if it hasnt been candle pruned in years and is lengthy?

If you prune behind the candle, into last years growth, a healthy tree will produce new apical buds and maybe some buds further back.
If the timing is wrong and/or you cut too far back, you risk losing the branch. You need needles on the branch, healthy needles. Otherwise the tree kills the branch.

With regular candle cutting and normal techniques, good watering and nutrients, normal candle cutting will get you back buds on 3-4 year old wood, sometimes older.

Doing risky stuff is risky, so on real lengthy branches you might want to consider grafting.

If you prune behind the candle, into last years growth, a healthy tree will produce new apical buds and maybe some buds further back.
If the timing is wrong and/or you cut too far back, you risk losing the branch. You need needles on the branch, healthy needles. Otherwise the tree kills the branch.

With regular candle cutting and normal techniques, good watering and nutrients, normal candle cutting will get you back buds on 3-4 year old wood, sometimes older.

Doing risky stuff is risky, so on real lengthy branches you might want to consider grafting.
Ah gotcha, and if I cut back into last years growth would that be about the same time as decandling in the summer? Or would it be when you would normally be selecting candles?

I am a rookie JBP candle pruner, but I'll give you my first experience.

I followed Eric Schrader's video, I think it was this one:

He explains things very clearly in a way that I understand why he's doing what he's doing.

On one, I cut just above the base of the candle in order to get the buds at the base to grow new branches there.