First Tree/ Brand New

OlDirtyBonsai

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello everyone-

I’m extremely new to bonsai (reading and watching videos non-stop over the past two months); this past weekend I bought a couple pieces of nursery stock to start trying my hand at making bonsai, and to make mistakes to grow from.

I am sharing my first piece of stock, in hopes to get practical input on the piece and advice from this community regarding steps to take. I feel I understand some of the basic concepts, yet I am faced with complete indecision when sitting in front of the tree!

It’s a mugo pine, to which the trunk curvature initially appealed to me. The tips of the needles are a bit yellow, but there’s also some lush green. I am in Southern New Jersey, and have it outside.

I cut the container down in to find the base, to which I think I am near, or at. There is dense surface rooting, and it’s given me pause to go any further as I am concerned about removing any at this point (although I haven’t come across anything flaring from the tree).

I also removed a knob on side of tree, and 3 small branches that crosssed the front, in order to get a better look at the trunk. (I left a 1/4 inch of each)

At this point I’m thinking I should be deciding on my direction with the tree, and make a couple smaller pruning decisions to create some space, then let it sit for a while. Is this justified?

My current impressions are the trunk may lend itself to a semi-cascade, and less so as more upright if tilted. I see a couple options for a lead, but I feel would require some significant chops to maintain a taper. And that’s where I am at so far.

Attaching pictures of several angles, and again hoping for input so I can get a ‘hands on’ learning experience.

Thanks in advance,