Banyan Care tips

marc09

Seedling
Reaction score
I just want to say hi to everyone. I'm glad i found this forums because i just bought a banyan tree and i'm just wondering any tips on taking care of it? Im new to Bonsai and i'm trying to find tip on how to care of my Banyan tree. My questions are:

How, what, and when to feed my tree? Any suggestion on products or fertilizers i can get? Will spraying it bi-weekly with water and a mix of liquid fertilizer will work? or do i need to use soil fertilizers?

I was planning or re-potting and pruning the roots once a year. maybe every spring? is that a good idea?

should i bring my tree outside for some sunlight everyday?

any other tips or guides i should know to keep my tree healthy?

I'm really sorry for all the beginner question but i am one and would like to really take care of my banyan tree.

Thank You :)

Hi and welcome!

Post some pictures, then we can really give you guidance on whether or not it'd be best to prune.

As to bringing it in and out everyday, I wouldn't. It would stress out the tree and make it drop leaves. Once the temps are consistently above 55F you'd be best just leaving the tree outdoors.

Oh yea, Welcome! Put your location in your profile so we can give you good help.

Thnx for the link i will read it :)

As for location i live in Northern California. Outside Temp will be at least 70-80 Degrees. I guess my bonsi will be better off indoors?

Hi and welcome!

Post some pictures, then we can really give you guidance on whether or not it'd be best to prune.

As to bringing it in and out everyday, I wouldn't. It would stress out the tree and make it drop leaves. Once the temps are consistently above 55F you'd be best just leaving the tree outdoors.

20130419_191131.jpg

here is my tree :)

so my tree is better off outdoors? hmmm im confused hehe. around spring and summer here in norcal its usually 60-80 but it really depends on a day tho