Starting a Red and Black Mangrove Bonsai/Reef Thing.

Dabbler

Shohin
Reaction score
I've always love and thought mangrove were some of the coolest tree species. Plus I love the ocean and all the cool little critters that are found there. So I figured I combine Bonsai/mangrove and reef keeping all into one. The main focus will be the mangroves and the reef second. I plan on having a mud flat thing for the black mangroves and a reef area for the red mangroves - They will be grown completely by Kessil Tuna sun LED's(no blue or purple light for me lol). This is a little different and I've never done tropical's before, so should be a learning thing all around. This is the render I build and the top tank will be black mangroves and the bottom and for red mangroves.

render.png

Stand part 1

Stand part 2

Not to bad!
Screenshot 2024-04-16 083237.png

I also have red and black mangroves on order - so that should be interesting too

I also have red and black mangroves on order - so that should be interesting too
I like where you are going with this. I’ve always loved the mangrove trees in reef systems. I’m guessing you are competent in keeping saltwater already?

I like where you are going with this. I’ve always loved the mangrove trees in reef systems. I’m guessing you are competent in keeping saltwater already?

Yeah I use to keep a few reef tanks years ago and got the itch again but wanted a more bonsai aspect to it

I love it! I kept 8 mangroves that I grew from seed for years. How they met their end is a tragic story for another time. This looks like a very cool project. But best of luck to you.

Call it reefsai
SOLD!

I love it! I kept 8 mangroves that I grew from seed for years. How they met their end is a tragic story for another time. This looks like a very cool project. But best of luck to you.

OH no! I use to have some really old mangroves too that met their end due to a weird reason. Thank you!

Following.