Complete newbie - growing from seed (UK, zone 9a)

ForeverRaynning

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Almost three weeks and no signs of life from the pines yet. 😔 Just moved them to the top of the fridge, without the humidity dome. Will see if that coaxes them out, just need to remember they’re up there incase they any do sprout.

I know outside is best but we’re still getting frosts here, azalea’s already taken a hit and the beech aren’t showing any signs of life yet either… so its not really spring-y out there just yet. Do we think they’d be ok in the conservatory on the meantime? It gets the most direct and ambient light, south facing, not heated the same as rest of the house but no doubt warmer than outside and will at least protect from frost. Having said that, the trays do have that dome on that may provide the wind rain and frost protection whilst allowing as much sun as possible? But not agaisnt the low temps. I suppose thats where hardening off comes in? Will have to do some reading on that too.

ForeverRaynning

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
I THINK, I see one of the seeds poking through the soil, so 1/11 has at least started sprouting, hopefully. When should I move it? I know they’ll need sunlight, but don’t know if any of the others will start sprouting if I leave it where it is now or if they’ll continue to sprout if i move it, beginning to wonder if its been too cold in the conservatory for them to sprout? Don’t want to move them into there and have them die due to the temperature drop overnight. I do have a windowsill in the kitchen thats south facing but not convinced it gets as much sun as the consevatory or upstairs windows.